Hosted events




Call for papers





About us

Contact us

















chair of software engineering logo

eth logo

Important dates

Deadline for technical papers: February 8, 2008 - completed

Author notification: April 1, 2008 -completed

Camera-ready copy due: April 16, 2008 -completed

Deadline for workshop proposals: February 15, 2008 -completed

Workshop Author notification: March 20, 2008 -completed

Deadline for tutorial proposals: March 31, 2008 -completed

Tutorial Author notification: April 15, 2008 -completed

Conference: June 30th - July 4th 2008

Co-located events

SEAFOOD 2008 Software Engineering Approaches For Offshore and Outsourced Development . 3-4 July

ICMT 2008 International Conference on Model Transformation 2008. 1-2 July

Web 2.0 Pattern Mining Workshop 30 June - 1 July

























List of accepted papers

Call for papers

TOOLS EUROPE 2008 will focus on the combination of technologies that have emerged through objects and object technology becoming mainstream. TOOLS EUROPE 2008 combines an emphasis on quality with a strong practical focus.

This is the 46th TOOLS conference. Started in 1989, TOOLS conferences, held in Europe, the USA, Australia, China and Eastern Europe, have played a major role in the development of object technology field; many of the seminal concepts were first presented at TOOLS. The TOOLS series was successfully restarted in 2007.

Contributions are solicited on all aspects of object technology and neighbouring fields, in particular model-based development, component-based development, and patterns (design, analysis and other applications); more generally, any contribution addressing topics in advanced software technology fall within the scope of TOOLS. Reflecting the practical emphasis of TOOLS, contributions showcasing applications along with a sound conceptual contribution are particularly welcome.

Hereafter follows a non-exclusive list of potential topics:

In 2008, TOOLS EUROPE will be co-located with several other events, including SEAFOOD 2008 and the International Conference on Model Transformation (ICMT) 2008. Details of co-located events can be found on the TOOLS web site.

Submission Guidelines

All contributions will be subject to a rigorous selection process by the international Program Committee, with a stress on originality, practicality and overall quality. Every paper will be reviewed by at least 4 committee members. The acceptance rate will be published in the conference proceedings; TOOLS is committed to a fair and extensive peer-review process establishing a high standard in the area of modern practices in software engineering.

The proceedings of TOOLS Europe 2008 will be a volume in the new Springer series LNBIP (Lecture Notes in Business and Information Processing).

This series has a focus on patterns and components, and has an excellent editorial board. See Springer's LNBIP web site for more details.

Papers should be formatted in the Springer LNBIP style (templates for LaTeX and Word are available).

Final camera-ready submissions should be at most 20 pages in length in LNBIP format. We recommend that you use this format for preparing your initial submission.

By submitting a paper to TOOLS, authors warrant that the work is original and that the paper or a similar contribution is neither published nor considered for publication elsewhere.

For submissions, please use this EasyChair page.

The deadline for technical papers has been extended to February 14, 2008.

TOOLS EUROPE will also include workshops and tutorials. See the corresponding calls for contributions.


Conference chair: Bertrand Meyer
Program chair: Richard Paige
Publicity chairs: Laurence Tratt, Philippe Lahire
Workshop chairs: Stephane Ducasse, Alexandre Bergel
Tutorial Chairs: Manuel Oriol, Phil Brooke

Program committee

Patrick Albert, Uwe Assmann, Balbir Barn, Mike Barnett, Claude Baudoin, Bernhard Beckert, Jean Bezivin, Jean-Pierre Briot, Phil Brooke, Marsha Chechik, Dave Clarke, Bernard Coulette, Jin Song Dong, Gregor Engels, Patrick Eugster, Jose Fiadeiro, Judit Nyekyne Gaizler, Benoit Garbinato, Carlo Ghezzi, Martin Glinz, Martin Gogolla, Jeff Gray, Pedro Guerreiro, Alan Hartman, Valerie Issarny, Gerti Kappel, Joseph Kiniry, Ivan Kurtev, Philippe Lahire, Ralf Laemmel, Mingshu Li, Tiziana Margaria, Erik Meijer, Peter Mueller, David Naumann, Oscar Nierstrasz, Manuel Oriol, Jonathan Ostroff, Alfonso Pierantonio, Awais Rashid, Nicolas Rouquette, Anthony Savidis, Doug Schmidt, Bran Selic, Anatoly Shalyto, Jim Steel, Dave Thomas, Laurence Tratt, T.H. Tse, Antonio Vallecillo, Amiram Yehudai, Andreas Zeller.